Executive Council


Calendar of Events



AFA Field Leaders Forum












History of Arizona State AFA

AFA Headquarters has provided a copy of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Arizona Wing of the Air Force Association, Inc., which became effective April 24, 1961. The document was adopted with changes and revisions/amendments by delegates at the 6th Annual Convention in Tucson, May 13-14, 1960, in Tucson, Arizona. This would place the first convention in 1954. Organization of the Arizona Wing was by groups and squadrons, headed by commanders, first and second vice commanders, a secretary and a treasurer, plus a judge advocate with an assistant to act as legal advisers or counselors.

On June 17, 1995, the Arizona Wing became the Arizona State Air Force Association, with the current composition of chapters.

Arizona State AFA at one time consisted of seven chapters, including the Goldwater Chapter in Sedona, the Richard S. Reid Chapter in Green Valley and the Phoenix-Sky Harbor Chapter in Phoenix. Currently there are four chapters: Prescott-Goldwater in Prescott (which includes Sedona), Frank Luke in Phoenix (which includes former Sky Harbor members), Tucson (which includes Green Valley) and Cochise, in Sierra Vista.

Working back, here is a partial listing of presidents:

Arizona State Presidents:

Ross Lampert, Hereford, 2010 to present

Harry Bailey, Glendale, 2007 to 2010

James Wheeler, Tucson, 2004 to 2007

Art Gigax, Tempe, 2002 to 2004

Angelo DiGiovanni, Green Valley, 1998 to 2002

Raymond Chuvala, Tucson, 1996 to 1998

Sally Reid, Green Valley, 1993 to 1996

William Lafferty, Green Valley, 1989 to 1993

Robert Munn, Tucson, 1986 to 1989

Meryl Frost, Tucson, 1985

Thomas W. Henderson, Tucson, 1983 to 1984

John P. Byrne, Sun City, 1981 to 1983

Robert C. Olson, Scottsdale, 1979 to 1981

E. D. Jewett Jr., Tucson, 1978 to 1979

Southwest Region Presidents:

Bob Hale, Nevada, 2011 to present

John Toohey, New Mexico, 2009 to 2011

James Wheeler, Arizona, 2007 to 2009

Robert "Herk" Herculson, Nevada, 2005 to 2007

Pete Robinson, New Mexico, 2003 to 2005

Bill Lafferty, Arizona, 2002 to 2003

Scotty Wetzel, Nevada, 2000 to 2002

Bill Lafferty, Arizona, 1994

Dwight M. Ewing, California, 1979 to 1980

Thanks to Bill Lafferty for filling in some of the blanks in our sketchy history. According to Bill, "Tom Henderson went on to be Regional VP, National Director and AFA Secretary, where he died in office. Meryl Frost was the original 2nd VP of AFA (that position was later eliminated). Bob Munn went on to be Regional VP and National Director, where he died in office." In addition to serving as Region VP and president, Lafferty also was a National Director and was named AFA Member of the Year in 1994.

Input is solicited from any members who may have information of interest for inclusion on this page. We welcome personal recollections, photographs, or any items which may be of interest to our membership.


For Arizona State AFA information, contact Ross Lampert, afazona@cox.net
Last updated: 5/31/12



National AFA